Welcome

Brisbane Synagogue   ברוכים הבאים

Welcome to the website of the Brisbane Synagogue and the Brisbane Hebrew Congregation.

  • IMG_0109
  • IMG_0293
  • IMG_0504
  • IMG_0521
  • IMG_0298
  • IMG_0316
  • IMG_0087
  • IMG_0359

 

The Brisbane Hebrew Congregation is the largest Jewish organisation in Queensland & its Synagogue is the oldest in Queensland.

Under the leadership of the Board and Rabbi Levi Jaffe, the Brisbane Hebrew Congregation offers many of the services which are important to a Jewish way of life.

The Brisbane Hebrew Congregation is a modern and dynamic Orthodox Synagogue, which aims to achieve a sense of community within the wide range of its members and participants.

The prime aim is to offer a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere to the many people who enter our doors from all walks of life. Our minhag is to daven nusach Ashkenaz, as found in the Artscroll, Koren Sacks, Singer and similar siddurim.

The Brisbane Jewish Community welcomes all and promotes active participation, within the setting of its charter. For the many people that attend the Shul each week, the Brisbane Synagogue has become like a second home. There is a warmth and atmosphere that is created during the services and other activities that can not be experienced elsewhere. This is in part due to the sense of belonging to a Jewish community with a long, rich history which is obvious to anyone visiting the Shul but perhaps more attributable to the general feeling shared by many that the Jewish community continues to succeed in building a Shul and community of which we can all be proud.

On this site you will find information about the Brisbane Jewish community, activities, kosher products, services, visiting the synagogue and many other topics. For school group visits to the Brisbane Synagogue or other queries please use the Contact Us page.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shabbat and Festival Times

Fri 6th January: Light Candles 6.30pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 7th 7.27pm

Fri 13th January: Light Candles 6.30pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 14th 7.26pm

Fri 20th January: Light Candles 6.29pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 21st 7.25pm

Fri 27th January: Light Candles 6.26pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 28th 7.22pm

Fri 3rd February: Light Candles 6.23pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 4th 7.17pm

Fri 10th February: Light Candles 6.18pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 11th 7.12pm

Fri 17th February: Light Candles 6.13pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 18th 7.06pm

Fri 24th February: Light Candles 6.07pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 25th 6.59pm

Fri 3rd March: Light Candles 6.00pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 4th 6.52pm

Fri 10th March: Light Candles 5.52pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 11th 6.44pm

Fri 17th March: Light Candles 5.44pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 18th 6.36pm

Fri 24th March: Light Candles 5.37pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 25th 6.28pm

Fri 31st March: Light Candles 5.29pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 1st April 6.20pm

Fri 7th April: Light Candles 5.21pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 8th 6.13pm

Pesach 1st Seder night 10th April Light Candles 5.18pm
2nd Seder night 11th April Light Candles after 6.10pm
1st 2 days end Wed 12th 6.09pm
Intermediate days 13th - 16th.

Fri 14th April: Light Candles 5.14pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 15th 6.06pm

Sunday 16th: Light Pesach Candles 5.12pm
Mon 17th Pesach Day 7 Light Candles after 6.04pm
Tues 18th Pesach Day 8 Pesach ends 6.03pm

Fri 21st April: Light Candles 5.07pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 22nd 5.59pm

Fri 28th April: Light Candles 5.01pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 29th 5.54pm

From The Rabbi