Welcome

Brisbane Synagogue   ברוכים הבאים

Welcome to the website of the Brisbane Synagogue and the Brisbane Hebrew Congregation.

  • IMG_0109
  • IMG_0293
  • IMG_0504
  • IMG_0521
  • IMG_0298
  • IMG_0316
  • IMG_0087
  • IMG_0359

 

The Brisbane Hebrew Congregation is the largest Jewish organisation in Queensland & its Synagogue is the oldest in Queensland.

Under the leadership of the Board and Rabbi Levi Jaffe, the Brisbane Hebrew Congregation offers many of the services which are important to a Jewish way of life.

The Brisbane Hebrew Congregation is a modern and dynamic Orthodox Synagogue, which aims to achieve a sense of community within the wide range of its members and participants.

The prime aim is to offer a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere to the many people who enter our doors from all walks of life. Our minhag is to daven nusach Ashkenaz, as found in the Artscroll, Koren Sacks, Singer and similar siddurim.

The Brisbane Jewish Community welcomes all and promotes active participation, within the setting of its charter. For the many people that attend the Shul each week, the Brisbane Synagogue has become like a second home. There is a warmth and atmosphere that is created during the services and other activities that can not be experienced elsewhere. This is in part due to the sense of belonging to a Jewish community with a long, rich history which is obvious to anyone visiting the Shul but perhaps more attributable to the general feeling shared by many that the Jewish community continues to succeed in building a Shul and community of which we can all be proud.

On this site you will find information about the Brisbane Jewish community, activities, kosher products, services, visiting the synagogue and many other topics. For school group visits to the Brisbane Synagogue or other queries please use the Contact Us page.

 

For Service Times please click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shabbat and Festival Times

Fri 5th May: Light Candles 4.55pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 6th 5.49pm

Fri 12th May: Light Candles 4.51pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 13th 5.45pm

Fri 19th May: Light Candles 4.47pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 20th 5.42pm

Fri 26th May: Light Candles 4.45pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 27th 5.39pm

Tues 30th May Erev Shavuot: Light Candles 4.44pm
Wed 31st May Shavuot Day 1: Light Candles after 5.39pm
Thurs 1st June Shavuot Day 2:
Yom Tov ends 5.39pm

Fri 2nd June: Light Candles 4.43pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 3rd 5.38pm

Fri 9th June: Light Candles 4.42pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 10th 5.38pm

Fri 16th June: Light Candles 4.43pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 17th 5.39pm

Fri 23rd June: Light Candles 4.44pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 24th 5.40pm

Fri 30th June: Light Candles 4.46pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 1st July 5.42pm

Fri 7th July: Light Candles 4.49pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 8th 5.45pm

Fri 14th July: Light Candles 4.52pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 15th 5.48pm

Fri 21st July: Light Candles 4.56pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 22nd 5.51pm

Fri 28th July: Light Candles 4.59pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 29th 5.54pm

From The Rabbi