Brisbane Synagogue   ברוכים הבאים

Welcome to the website of the Brisbane Synagogue and the Brisbane Hebrew Congregation.

  • IMG_0109
  • IMG_0293
  • IMG_0504
  • IMG_0521
  • IMG_0298
  • IMG_0316
  • IMG_0087
  • IMG_0359


The Brisbane Hebrew Congregation is the largest Jewish organisation in Queensland & its Synagogue is the oldest in Queensland.

Under the leadership of the Board and Rabbi Levi Jaffe, the Brisbane Hebrew Congregation offers many of the services which are important to a Jewish way of life.

The Brisbane Hebrew Congregation is a modern and dynamic Orthodox Synagogue, which aims to achieve a sense of community within the wide range of its members and participants.

The prime aim is to offer a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere to the many people who enter our doors from all walks of life. Our minhag is to daven nusach Ashkenaz, as found in the Artscroll, Koren Sacks, Singer and similar siddurim.

The Brisbane Jewish Community welcomes all and promotes active participation, within the setting of its charter. For the many people that attend the Shul each week, the Brisbane Synagogue has become like a second home. There is a warmth and atmosphere that is created during the services and other activities that can not be experienced elsewhere. This is in part due to the sense of belonging to a Jewish community with a long, rich history which is obvious to anyone visiting the Shul but perhaps more attributable to the general feeling shared by many that the Jewish community continues to succeed in building a Shul and community of which we can all be proud.

On this site you will find information about the Brisbane Jewish community, activities, kosher products, services, visiting the synagogue and many other topics. For school group visits to the Brisbane Synagogue or other queries please use the Contact Us page.























Shabbat and Festival Times

Fri 7th October: Light Candles 5.33pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 8th 6.27pm

Tues 11th October: Erev Yom Kippur - Kol Nidrei Night Light Candles 5.35pm
Fast Begins: 5.53pm

Wed 12th October: Yom Kippur
Fast ends: 6.29pm

Fri 14th October: Light Candles 5.37pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 15th 6.31pm

Sun 16th October: Erev Sukkot Light Candles 5.38pm
Mon 17th October: Sukkot Day 1 Light Candles After 6.32pm
Tues 18th October: Sukkot Day 2 Yom Tov ends: 6.33pm

Fri 21st October: Light Candles 5.41pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 22nd 6.36pm

Sun 23rd October: Hoshana Rabba Light Candles: 5.42pm
Mon 24th October: Shmini Atzeret Light Candles After 6.37pm
Tues 25th October: Simchat Torah Yom Tov Ends 6.38pm

Fri 28th October: Light Candles 5.46pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 29th 6.41pm

Fri 4th November: Light Candles 5.51pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 5th 6.46pm

Fri 11th November: Light Candles 5.56pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 12th 6.52pm

Fri 18th November: Light Candles 6.01pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 19th 6.58pm

Fri 25th November: Light Candles 6.07pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 26th 7.04pm

Fri 2nd December: Light Candles 6.12pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 3rd 7.10pm

Fri 9th December: Light Candles 6.17pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 10th 7.15pm

Fri 16th December: Light Candles 6.22pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 17th 7.20pm

Fri 23rd December: Light Candles 6.25pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 24th 7.24pm

Sun 25th December: Chanukah Day 1

Fri 30th December: Light Candles 6.28pm
Shabbat ends: Sat 31st 7.26pm

Sun 1st January: Chanukah Day 8